2017 01 / 31

Winner of the Royal Society Michael Faraday Prize 2016

From The Royal Society:

Michael Faraday’s Prize and Lecture 2016 is awarded to Dr. Nick Lane for excellence in communicating science to UK audiences.

The award is named after Michael Faraday FRS, the influential inventor and electrical pioneer who was prominent in the public communication of science and founded the Christmas lectures at the Royal Institution. The first award was made in 1986.

The Royal Society Michael Faraday Prize and Lecture is awarded annually to the scientist or engineer whose expertise in communicating scientific ideas in lay terms is exemplary. Normally, preference will be given to a practising scientist or engineer, but other individuals whose primary expertise is in writing, broadcasting or other relevant forms of communication may also be considered.